Shaun Stubley Black


Ecurie Ecosse C-Type

Jaguar dominated sportscar racing during the fifties, and the foundation of this success was the C-Type. Built from 1951 to 1953 as a competition version of the fabulous XK120, it was competitive from the off; most notably at Le Mans where it won on its first outing in 1951. Three factory cars were entered, two failed to finish but the third car driven by Peter Whitehead and Peter Walker emerged victorious. The cars were lightened and tuned for the following year but sadly they all failed to finish. However 1953 saw the factory return to winning ways with a C-Type again taking victory. A change to Weber carburettors boosted power and, perhaps more significantly, the fitting of disc brakes helped Tony Rolt and Duncan Hamilton achieve a win with an average speed of 105.8mph. The first time the event had ever been won with an average of over 100mph. One of the most famous independent teams to run the C-Type was Ecurie Ecosse, the Scottish team founded in 1952 by David Murray, along with the renowned mechanic Wilkie Wilkinson and up and coming Jaguar racer Ian Stewart. Ecurie Ecosse cars were easily identified by their patriotic blue livery and white identification stripes painted across the bonnet; one to three depending on how many cars the team entered at any given event.  Along with two other C-Types, KSF 182 was successfully campaigned throughout 1953, being driven by Ninian Sanderson, Jimmy Stewart, John Lawrence and Sir James Scott-Douglas before being sold at the end of the season to make way for an ex factory lightweight.  Ecurie Ecosse also won Le Mans twice, in 1956 and 1957, although they were then using the equally beautiful Jaguar D-Type.





Oil on canvas